Meet Board Chair, and Commissioner of District I, DeAnn Croatt

How long have you been on the board?

I am honored to have served on the HRA/CDA board for about 27 years. I am in my final term, which expires at the end of 2025.

What is your favorite part of being on the board?

It has been rewarding to see the evolving opportunities for individuals and businesses in Scott County. During my tenure, the HRA/CDA added nine senior apartment buildings in the cities of Shakopee, Elko New Market, Savage, Jordan, and New Prague. This was exciting for me because, prior to serving on the board, I managed a Jordan senior building for ten years and recognized the growing need for additional housing.  The CDA introduced Community Land Trust home sales, both for existing and new construction. This program is an excellent way to make home buying affordable.  Lastly, the CDA staff are a talented, dedicated  and creative group.

What is something about the CDA’s work you are proud to support?

First Time Home Buyers, because we remember our first home-buying experience! Buyers who graduate from this program are well-equipped to own and maintain a home.

What is something about the CDA’s work that the public may not be aware we do?

There’s a lot going on at the CDA!  Many times we aren’t aware of programs available until we have a particular need or circumstance  for ourselves, our family or friends.  The CDA works directly with the county, cities and businesses in Scott County, which benefits everyone. As needs arise, the appropriate entities collaborate for resolution.

Where do you work/volunteer, etc.

I recently retired as Clerk of Helena Township after serving for 36 years. I will continue to serve the township as Deputy Clerk. Since my retirement from MVEC, we have time to be caregivers for family members in Western Minnesota.

Any personal info you want to share?

We have lived on a hobby farm near New Prague since 1978. Besides e-biking, our hobbies include gardening, canning, bee keeping, and maple syruping. We have with two married sons and five grandchildren.

The CDA Commissioners are appointed by Scott County Commissioners, by District. District I consists of the Cities of Belle Plaine, Jordan (Precincts 1 and 2), New Prague (Precinct 2) and Shakopee (Precincts 5 and 13) and the Townships of Belle Plaine, Blakeley, Helena, Jackson, Louisville, St. Lawrence, and Sand Creek.